Which Player Has Won Maximum Number Of ICC World Cup In His Career?

ICC World Cup is an international cricket championship tournament organized by the ICC (International Cricket Council). The tournament is held every four years and the teams have reached the finals after qualifying the preliminary rounds. It is of the most popular and most viewed sporting events worldwide.

Its first edition of the ICC World Cup was played in the year 1975 organized in England. West Indies won the tournament after defeating Australia by 17 runs in the finals. Also, the current champions are England (1st title) and Australia is the most successful team by winning the title 5 times. Sachin Tendulkar and Glenn McGrath have the record for the most runs (2,278) and wickets (71) respectively.

Players dream to lift the golden trophy of the world cup at least once in their career but there are players who have lifted the trophy not once or twice but three times in their career. Let’s take a look at the players who have lifted the most number of ICC World cup.

List Of Player Who Has Won Maximum Number Of ICC World Cup

  • Ricky Pointing:

Ricky Pointing is considered as one of the most successful captains of the Australian team in the history of the ICC World Cup. He debuted in the year 1995 and after won the trophy in 1999. Ponting was made the captain of the Australian team and helped his country to lift two world cups consecutively in 2003 and 2007.

Ponting also has the most successful cricket career of all time as an individual cricketer after making a record of 13,00 runs in his whole ODI career and was named as the “cricketer of the decade 2000”.

  • Glenn McGrath

McGrath has played clicket for fourteen years and is an Australian former international cricketer. He is considered one of the greatest bowlers of all time and has helped Australia for its domination is the world of cricket.

Glenn played a major role in 1999, 2003 and 2007 World Cup editions having won by the Australian team. He has helped his team to lift the trophy in all three editions through his bowling techniques. And in the 2007 World Cup, he marked it as the end of his One-Day cricket career.

  • Adam Gilchrist

 Adam Craig Gilchrist, is a former international cricketer and also the captain of the Australia National Team. Gilchrist is regarded as one of the greatest wicket-keeper’s worldwide. He has made history by his strike rate as it is highest in both ODI and Test cricket.

Gilchrist proved that he is mastered both batting and wicket-keeping. He was also the game-changer in the 1999, 2003, and 2007 matches by winning the World Cup.

Australia has been lucky in the field of cricket because of its multi-talented players who are all-rounders.

Read More: Top 5 Teams With Most UEFA Champions League Trophy In Football

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here