Two Underrated Teams Qualified For T20 2022 World Cup: Know More Details Here

Teams Qualified For T20 World Cup 2022: T20 World Cup is an international cricket championship in the T20 format, organized by the ICC (International Cricket Council). There are a total of 16 teams in the tournament, the top 10 teams are selected by ranking and the other 6 teams are selected through the Qualifier Round.

Generally, the tournament is played every two years. Its first edition was played in 2007 and won by team India. However, the latest edition was played in 2021 and won by the Australian Team, marking their 1st T20 World Cup title.

West Indies have been the most successful team in the world cup by winning the title two times in 2012 and 2016.

There have been a total of seven editions of tournaments so far. The 2007 (inaugural edition) won by India, next in 2009 won by Pakistan, 2010 won by England, 2012 won by West Indies by defeating Sri Lanka in the finals. Later in 2014 won by Sri Lanka (won its first t20 WC tournament), in 2016 hosted by India was won by West Indies after defeating England.

Also this year UAE and Ireland have taken 13th and 14th position by winning the Qualifier round in the World Cup. The last two positions is to be decided at Qualifier B in July.

List Of Teams Qualified For T20 World Cup 2022

UAE and Ireland have confirmed their tickets for the world cup in Australia on Tuesday. They won two spots from the remaining four spots from Nepal and Oman respectively and have reached the ‘Super 12’ stage in the tournament.

  • UAE: In the match between UAE and Nepal, UAE won by 68 runs. UAE won the toss and opted to bat, Muhammad Waseem made a top-score of 70 runs. Vriitya Aravind made 46 runs, and captain Ahmed Raza took five wickets, leading UAE’s win in the match.Β  Β  Β  Β  The team has qualified for the main tournament for only the 2nd time.

UAE has given their first appearance in the T20 World Cup in 2014 and is going to play in the 2019-22 Cricket World Cup, having qualified for the T20 World Cup Qualifier round.

  • Ireland:Β It is going to be Ireland’s 7th appearance for the World Cup. It has only missed the inaugural edition in 2007. Moreover, Ireland booked their position after defeating the hosts Oman by 56 runs. Oman won the toss and decided to ball. Andy McBrine and Gareth Delany from the Iris team made 36 and 47 runs respectively, which was a major reason for Ireland to win.

Ireland made its first T20 appearance in 2009, 5 appearances for the T20 World Cup Qualifier, and now has secured a position for the 2022’s World Cup by winning over Oman on the qualifying match.

Read More:Β Know Everything About Sri Lanka Tour Of India: Venue, Matches, Schedule, Teams, And When And Where To Watch

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here