Top 5 Teams With Most FIFA World Cup Trophies: Know Who Has Won It Most Number Of Times

FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious and famous football tournament globally. It is also the most viewed and followed single sporting event in the world. 2006 world cup had an estimate of 26.29 billion views with 715.1 million people watching the final match which 9th part of the total population on the planet.

The upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup is to be hosted by Qatar. Moreover, the 2026 FIFA World Cup will be jointly hosted by Canada, the United States, and Mexico.

The Top 5 Teams With Most FIFA World Cup:

  1. Brazil (5 Times):                 

After being crowned the winner five times: 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002, having earned second-place, third-place, and fourth-place, finishing twice each, Brazil has become the most successful National Team in the history of the World Cup.   

Also being called the Powerhouse Team in the world of football, Brazil is the only country that appeared in every final tournament from 1930 to 2018. The Brazilian team has traditionally set a benchmark on how football should be played and has also given us the greatest footballers of all time like Ronaldo and Neymar.

2. Germany (4 Times):           

The German National Football Team is one of the most successful at the FIFA World Cup by winning four titles in 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014, earning second-place and third-place finishes four times each.

Germany is also the only European Nation that has won a FIFA World Cup in the Americas. Also, there is no doubt in the fact that Germany has some of the world’s best football players in the history of the World Cup like Miroslav Klose, Paul Breitner, Lothar Matthaus, Gerd Muller are legendry in this field.

3. Italy (4 Times):               

Italy has represented International football since 1st match in 1910 and has won four titles (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006) and appeared in two other finals (1970,1994), reaching a third-place (1990) and a fourth-place (1978). 

Their longest winning streak is 13 wins, and also an unbeaten world record of 37 consecutive official matches.

4. Argentina (2 Times):

Argentina has appeared in five World Cup finals in which they won two, first in 1978 by beating the Netherlands and again in 1986 with victory over West Germany.                    Argentina is currently tied with Uruguay in most wins and has also won the 1992 FIFA Confederations Cup and the 1993 Artemio Franchi Trophy.

5. Uruguay (2 Times):                   

The South American team have two World Cups, the 1930 and 1950 FIFA World Cup but FIFA recognizes Uruguay as four-time world champions and also allows them to wear four stars in their uniform.

Uruguay hosted the first FIFA 1930 and also won that match by beating Argentina (4-2) in the finals and next in 1950 by upsetting the host team Brazil (2-1) in the final match. In total the team has qualified for thirteen-World cup, five times the semifinals and twice the finals.

5. France (2 Times)

France is also a two-time World Champions Team. Currently, they’re the defending Champions s they defeated Croatia in the 2018 World Cup Finals in Russia. They first won the World Cup in 1998 with players like Zidane and Thierry Henry in the team.

READ MORE: All You Need To Know About Lionel Messi: Teams, Earnings, Goals, Records and trophies

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here