Top 10 Batsman in IPL With Most Runs

The Indian Premier League is celebrated as the biggest festival among Indians. Currently, the 10 teams of IPL represent the 10 major Indian cities and have also set a massive viewership record with 31.57 million average impressions in 2020 which is an increase of 23% from 2019.

The T20 cricket League formed by BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) in 2007 is the most lucrative and popular outlet in the game of cricket.

At present, IPL title holders are the Chennai Super Kings, by winning the 2021 season, and have also been viewers’ one of the most favorite team.

Top Run Scorers in IPL:

  1. Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore):

Virat Kohli is the all-time leading run-scorer in the IPL to date. He has scored 6,283 runs in 207 matches since he joined the RCB in the inaugural edition in 2008.

Virat has scored 5 centuries in IPL along with 42 half-centuries. His average is 37.39 and the former Indian captain bats with an average of 37.29.

2. Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Capitals) :

Shikhar Dhawan is a left-handed opening batsman, who plays for the Delhi Capitals and is one of the leading in IPL by 5,784 runs in 192 matches.

Dhawan has scored 2 centuries in IP to date and 44 half centuries. Before joining Delhi Captain, he represented other big names like Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

3. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians) :     

Rohit Sharma is the captain of the Indian national team in limited-overs formats also the vice-captain in Test cricket. By scoring 5,661 runs in 213 matches he has made it into the list of leading run-scorers.

In Internatonal cricket, he holds the world record of the highest individual scores by a batsman in a one-day international match,

Before leading Mumbai Indians, Rohit was part of Deccan Chargers team.

4. Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings)          

Suresh Raina is a left-handed middle-order batsman often regarded as one of the best fielders in the world of cricket. He has scored a total of 5,528 runs in total of 205 matches of IPL.

Raina has scored only 1 century in IPL but has 39 half-centuries to his name.

5. David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) :           

Warner, former captain of the Australian National Team and Sunrisers Hyderabad is a left-handed batsman. David has played a total of 150 IPL matches, scoring 5,449 runs so far, and is currently the fifth-highest run-scorer in Indian Premier League’s history.

Warner averages 41.59 runs in IPL which is best among the top 5 players.

6. AB de Villers (Royal Challengers Bangalore) :             

AB de Villers, former South African Professional cricketer has scored over 5,162 run in 184 matches.

ABD has 3 centuries and 40 half-centuries to his name. His strike rate is also impressive which revolves around 150.

7. Chris Gayle (RCB, KKR, Punjab Kings):       

Chris Gayle, played for West Indies in the International Cricket from 1998 to 2021.              Gayle has scored over 4,965 runs in 142 Matches and is crowned by the famous title ‘Universe Boss’. 

Gayle has 6 centuries to his name, which is most by an individual player. Also, he held the record for the fastest century for quite a long time where he scored 175 runs playing for RCB.

8. MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings):     

MS Dhoni often considered as the greatest captain of the Indian cricket team who also led CSK to win 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021 edition of IPL, is the 2nd most successful IPL captain after Rohit Sharma.

Dhoni has also made it to the list of highest run-scorers by scoring 4,746 runs in 220 matches.  He averages 39.55 runs in IPL. Interestingly, Shoni has never scored a century in IPL and that’s understandable as he comes to bat mostly in the end overs. His best score is 84*.

9. Robin Uthappa (Chennai Super Kings) :     

Robin Uthappa played for several teams like KKR, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, and even Royal Challengers Bangalore. The 9th most run-scorer last appeared for Chennai Super Kings. He has scored 4722 runs in 193 matches.

He also won an Orange cap playing for Kolkata Knight Riders. Alike Dhoni, Uthappa has also never scored a century and his highest score is 87.

10. Gautam Gambhir (KKR, Delhi Capitals) :   

Gautam Gambhir is a former cricketer who captained Kolkata Night Riders and Delhi Daredevils in the IPL. He has made a total of 4,217 runs in 154 matches in IPL.

Gambhir also never scored a century in IPL but has 36 half-centuries to his name. Gambhir also has the least number of sixes among top 10 batsmen which is 59 sixes.

READ MORE: IPL Teams And Captains For 2022 Season

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here