Top 10 Teams in NBA With Most Number of Championships

Top 10 teams with the most NBA championships: NBA Championship has established itself as the top basketball league in the world. The league evolved with time and is now considered as one of the richest leagues. But, who are the most successful teams in this league?

Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers are at the top of the most NBA championships list by winning 17 titles. After winning the 17th championship in 2020 LA Lakers joined Boston Celtics to be the top team with the most titles.

Out of the 30 teams under National Basketball Association, only 19 teams have won at least 1 championship each.

There are only five NBA teams that have won more than three Championships:

  • Boston Celtics
  • Los Angeles Lakers
  • Chicago Bulls
  • San Antonio Spurs
  • Golden State Warriors

Until 2019 Celtics held the title for most no. of titles (17) but after winning the finals LA Lakers made a tie, thus these are the two teams in NBA history to have the most number of titles.

There are only three other NBA teams having won three NBA championship titles:

  • Philadelphia 76ers
  • Detroit Pistons
  • Miami Heat

Other than that three franchises with two titles are Milwaukee Bucks, New York Knicks, and Houston Rockets.

Let’s see the top 10 teams with the most championship in detail:

List Of Top 10 NBA Teams With Most Championships 

10. Houston Rockets (2 championship titles)

The team was previously named San Diego Rockets but was later changed to Houston Rockets when they relocated to Houston in 1971.

The Rockets won two championship titles in the year 1994 and 1995 consecutively. They have made their appearance in finals 4 times and have made it to the NBA playoffs 33 times. In 1981 and 1986 Houston lost twice in the finals against the legendary Celtics.

9. New York Knicks ( 2 Championships)

Even though with only two championships in their hand, the team is one of the most popular NBA franchises. Moreover, they played 8 times in the NBA finals.

New York Knicks won two tiles in the year 1970 and 1973 after knocking out Los Angeles Lakers in both years. Knicks’ other final appearance in the game was on the year 1951, 1952, 1953 (first team to lose three consecutive finals), 1994, 1972, and 1999.

8. Miami Heat (3 championships)

In 2006 the team won its first championship title led by Dwayne Wade and Shaquille O’Neal in the finals. Miami Heat has won three championship titles in the year 2006, 2012, and 2013.

The other three finals appearance was made by the team in 2011, 2014, and 2020 defeated by Dallas Mavericks, San Antonio Spurs, and LA Lakers respectively.

7. Detriot Pistons (3 championships)

The pistons have won 3 championships and entered 7 finals. They won two years straight in 1989 and 1990 and won another title in 2004.

6. Philadelphia 76ers (3 Championship)

Along with the Pistons Philadelphia has also won only three titles but has made the appearance in the NBA finals in a total of 9 games. The franchise first joined NBA in 1955 and was previously named Syracuse Nationals and was later named Philadelphia 76ers in 1963.

5. San Antonio Spurs (6 championships)

The Spurs have won 6 championship titles and made it to the finals 5 times. At the start, the team was highly active in the games and won 5 titles in the year 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, and 2014.

They lost against Miami Heat in 2013 after reaching the finals.

4. Chicago Bulls ( 6 Championships)

Chicago won the six titles during their Micheal Jordans era. Since the 1960s Chicago Bulls was the only team to win three consecutive titles after Boston Bulls. The bulls won six titles in the years 1991, 1992, and 1993 (3 consecutive), 1997, 1998, and 1999 (another three consecutive).

These six years were the only in which they appeared in finals.

3. Golden State Warriors (7 Championships)

The Warriors won the first-ever NBA match in the year 1947 and has also the latest champions of the year 2022. Warriors won seven titles in the year 1947, 1956, 1975, 2015, 2017, 2018, and 2022.

The team has 12 final appearances.

2. Boston Celtics (17 Championships)

Boston Celtics ruled the top ranking alone for the longest time in history after before getting tied up with the Lakers later in the year 2020. Between the seasons of early 1950 and the late 1960s, the Celtics build its empire by winning 11 titles in 13 seasons which is still an unbroken record.

The Celtics won the championship in the year 1957, 1959, 1960-66, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986, and 2008.

1. Los Angeles Lakers (17 Championships)

After winning the title in 2020 Lakers is at the top of the list and are tied with Boston Celtics for the first position. Lakers won the title after 16 years and claimed their position and have appeared in 32 NBA Finals too, which puts them in the first position.

LA Lakers the 17 titles in the years 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010, and 2020.

Also, there are 11 teams that are yet to win NBA’s final championship title, let’s take a look at who they are:

  • Brooklyn Nets
  • Charlotte Hornets
  • Denver Nuggets
  • Indiana Pacers
  • Los Angeles Clippers
  • Memphis Grizzlies
  • Minnesota Timberwolves
  • New Orleans Pelicans
  • Orlando Magic
  • Phoenix Suns
  • Utah Jazz

Read More: All You Need to Know About Arshdeep Singh: Debut, Controversy, IPL Teams, Net Worth, and Others

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here