List of IPL Teams Who Have Never Won the IPL Trophy Till Now

IPL teams who have never won the tournament till now: IPL is among the most renowned and entertaining cricket leagues in the world, having fans all over the world IPL is the most awaited tournament every year. Also after last year, the unexpected win of the Gujarat Titans has filled everyone with new hopes for their favorite teams.

The current title holders are Gujarat Titans (2022 season), it was their 1st tournament as the team was formed in 2022 itself. Despite that GT’s captain Hardik Pandya did an incredible job in leading the team forward. Apart from that Mumbai Indians holds the record for most titles (5 times) whereas Chennai Super Kings is second on the list with 4 titles.

With the exception of these three historic teams, there are a few more teams who have claimed the titles including Rajasthan Royals (inaugural edition), Deccan Charges (2009 season), Kolkata Night Riders (2012, 2014), and Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016).

List of IPL Teams without a winning Title

As the tournament starts with 10 teams, each representing different states of India, there are a few teams that are yet to win the trophy let’s know about them. Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, and Punjab Kings are the only teams who are yet to win the IPL trophy.

This 2023 edition might be their season so let’s know about them in detail,

Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB is among one of the strongest IPL teams with legendary players like Virat Kohli and AB Devillers. Till now they have reached finals thrice but remained as runner-ups in the year 2009 (Deccan Charges), 2011 (to Chennai Super Kings), and in 2016 (to Sunrisers Hyderabad).

The teams also hold the record for both the highest and lowest totals in the IPL by 263/7 and 49 respectively.

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals was previously named Delhi Daredevils. It is among the team which has been since the beginning of the tournament but has failed to win the trophy til now. The Capitals reached the finals for the very first time in 2020, losing against Mumbai Indians.

Punjab Kings

Apart from their face-off with Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014 during the finals, the team has made only one other playoff appearance in 13 seasons. But this IPL season we might expect some more from the team as PKBS has made the highest-ever purchase in IPL history by paying a whopping amount of Rs 18.50 crore for Sam Curran.

Read More: All You Need To Know About Shreyas Iyer: IPL Teams, Debut, Runs, and Records

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here