List Of Indian Captains Who Have Won ICC Under-19 Cricket World CUP

INDIA has been one of the most successful teams to clinch the under-19 world cup titles. They secured this title 5 times in the years 2000, 2008, 2012, 2018 & 2022. Along with this, they have also been runner-up 3 times in the following years: 2006, 2016 & 2020. Here is the list of Indian Captains who have won the ICC Cricket World Cup Under-19 categories.

Indian Captains Who Won Under-19 World Cup

1. Mohammed Kaif (2000)

India won their first under-19 world cup in the year 2000 under the captaincy of Mohammed Kaif. India chased the score of 179 set by Sri Lanka in just 40.4 overs. They defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets and held the Trophy with pride.

2. Virat Kohli

India won their 2nd under-19 world cup title in the year 2008 under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. This is one the most interesting matches in the history of cricket where India won this match by DLS or D/L method. India defeated South Africa and won the finals by 12 runs.

Story Alert: Top 10 Richest NFL Players in the World

3. Unmukt Chand

India won their 3rd under-19 world cup title in the year 2012 under the captaincy of Unmukt Chand. India chased the score of 225 set by Australia in just 47.4 overs and won the match by 6 wickets.

4. Prithvi Shaw

India won their 4th under-19 world cup title in the year 2018 under the captaincy of Prithvi Shaw. This time again India chased the score set by Australia of 216 in just 38.5 overs only and won the match by 8 wickets.

5. Yash Dhul

Most recently, India won their 5th under-19 world cup title in the year 2022 under the captaincy of Yash Dhul. India chased the target of 189 set by England in 47.4 overs and won the finals by 4 wickets.

Under 19 (Runner-Up)

The Indian team went into the finals of the under -19 world cup 3 times but unfortunately could not win the world cup title.

  • Ravikant Shukla: In the year 2006 Indian Under 19 team led by Ravikant Shukla, lost against Pakistan. The finals were played in Colombo, Sri Lanka and India failed to chase target set by Pakistan and lost the match by 38 runs.
  • Ishan Kishan: In the year 2016 the Indan team led by Ishan Kishan was a strong team but lost to West Indies. India failed to stop West Indies and WI won the match by 5 wickets.
  • Priyam Garg: In the year 2020 again India went to finals but couldn’t lift the trophy and ended as runner-up. Bangladesh won the match by 3 wickets through the DLS method.

Read More: Team India ICC Cricket World Cup Schedule, Team, Matches, Groups, When and Where to Watch Matches, Prediction to Win


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here