IPL Teams And Captains For 2022 Season

IPL is like a big festival for India. This year, two new teams are introduced. The craze and excitement for the league are at their peak. Apart from the mega IPL auction many teams have already decided on their captains, but some teams are still searching for the best ones.

Chennai Super Kings


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Chennai Super Kings (@chennaiipl)

 Chennai Super Kings is one of the most consistent teams in the history of IPL and MS DHONI is one of the key factors behind the tremendous success of this franchise. Dhoni has led the CSK team in 15 IPL seasons in which they have won 4 trophies in 9 finals.

According to the owner of the franchise, Dhoni will lead the team until he takes retirement from IPL itself.  Apart from Dhoni, CSK has retained Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Moeen Ali as their four key players.

CSK looking forward to taking the full benefit of the mega auctions by adding some more match-winners to their team.

Mumbai Indians


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Mumbai Indians (@mumbaiindians)

 Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchise in the history of IPL. Many star players like Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Warne are also the part of this franchise for a time but the fortune of the franchise changed dramatically when team India’s star opener Rohit Sharma took over the captaincy in the year 2013.

Under the captaincy of Rohit, Sharma MI has won 5 trophies out of 7 IPL finals. This year, if things go well for MI, Rohit Sharma, will lead the team in all IPL matches. MI has retained Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Ishan Kishan, and Jaspirit Bumrah as their main players.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

 Royal challengers Bangalore is one of the most unfortunate franchises in the IPL history. Despite being packed with some of the star players this franchise can’t perform as per their standards.

As Virat Kohli who is being with the franchise since the very first season has stepped down from the captain the main headache for the team is to search for a good captain. RCB hasn’t won a single trophy in the 15 IPL seasons. RCB has retained their key player GLENN MAXWELL along with VIRAT KOHLI and MD.SIRAJ.

Delhi Capitals


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Delhi Capitals (@delhicapitals)

 Delhi capitals are on the way of becoming a successful franchise. As team India young wicket-keeper batsmen Rishab Pant gives the charge of the team, the franchise keeps growing. According to reports, Rishab Pant will also lead the team this year’s IPL too.

Along with Rishab Pant DC has retained Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, and Anrich Nortje.

Rajasthan Royals


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Rajasthan Royals (@rajasthanroyals)

 RR team is led by Sanju Samson from the previous four seasons. Despite winning the first season of the IPL this franchise, the team always came as underdogs. In this season too the captaincy burden is on Sanju Samson. RR has retained Jos Buttler along and Yashasvi Jaiswal along with Sanju Samson.

Sunrisers Hyderabad 


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by SunRisers Hyderabad (@sunrisershyd)

 SRH became IPL Champions in 2016. After that win, their performance has changed drastically. The captaincy has been given to New Zealand star captain Kane Williamson for this IPL season.

The SRH franchise is looking forward to make a stable team in the mega auction. SRH has retained Kane Williamson along with Abdul Samad and Umran Malik.

Lucknow Super Giants

 LSG is the new team that has been added this year IPL. According to the reports, KL Rahul will lead the team. LSG has picked Marcus Stonnis and Ravi Bishnoi along with KL Rahul as their draff players.

Ahmedabad Titans


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by IPL (@iplt20)

 This team is also new in this IPL season. Reports stated that team India’s star all-rounder Hardik Pandya will lead the team. This team has picked Rashid khan and Shubman Gill along with Hardik Pandya as their draft players.

Punjab Kungs

Kolkata Knight Riders


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Kolkata Knight Riders (@kkriders)

 KKR has seen many ups and downs in the IPL. This team has reached the IPL final in the previous year under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan. KKR has not mentioned his captain for this year’s IPL. KKR has retained Andre Russel, Venkatesh Iyer, Varun Chakaravathy and Sunil Narine.

Punjab Kings


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Punjab Kings (@punjabkingsipl)

 Earlier known as Punjab Kings, is one of the oldest and few teams in IPL which has never won the trophy. The team never lacked star power and has seen the presence of players like Glenn Maxwell, KL Rahul, and many others.

This season they have retained two players which are Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh. However, it seems like they will target a captain in the IPL auction.

READ MORE: ‘Finishing it of in Mahi’s Way’: Twitter Fans React To India U19 World Cup Victory, Compares Winning Shot With Dhoni’s 2011 World Cup Final

Tauqeer Belal
Tauqeer Belal
Tauqeer is a young writer who is enthusiastic about the game of cricket and writes about what is going on in the game of cricket around the world. Currently, he is pursuing his Journalism degree from St. Xaviers' College, Ranchi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here