Indian Captains In IPL 2022 Season: Full List Here

Indian Captains In IPL 2022: In this 15th IPL season we have some experienced Captains for the team whereas some new players as captains as well. There have been many captains in the IPL’s history, some have been extremely successful while others have not.

With 5 IPL titles under his captaincy, Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain in IPL’s history.  This year also he will be IPL 2022 captain for the team. After Rohit, it has to be MS Dhoni for bringing 4 titles under his leadership and has also captained the team 190 times, most than any other player in the Indian Premier League’s history.

List Of Indian Captains In IPL 2022 Season

Ravindra Jadeja (Chennai Super Kings)

This year’s captaincy for CSK has been handed over to Ravindra Jadeja by Dhoni after leading the team for 12 seasons. Dhoni has represented the team by winning four titles under his captaincy in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021.

After the announcement of his captaincy, Jadeja has said that he is going to carry forward Dhoni’s legacy. He has also stated that “I don’t need to worry too much because he’s here and whatever question I need to ask, I’ll definitely ho to him...”. Also, it’s his first match as Captain.

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians)

After replacing Ricky Pointing in 2013 for MI’s captaincy Rohit Sharma has led the team to win 5 titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020 which is the highest of all teams. After losing last years league, Rohit Sharma is back with his never-ending spirit. Fans are excited to see this year’s performance by the undefeated captain of IPL.

MI has also played its first match on IPL 2022 on Sunday, 27th March but lost against Delhi Capitals by 4 wickets.

Shreyas Iyer (Kolkata Knight Riders)

KKR has already won the 1st match of IPL 2022 under Shreyas Iyer’s captaincy against Chennai Super Kings on Saturday, 26th March. KKR bought Shreyas for a whopping amount of 12.5 crores in the IPL mega auction 2022.

Shreyas Iyer is an experienced cricketer and has also played as Delhi capital’s captain in 2020 and led the teams to playoffs after seven years. But in the 2021 season, he had to be out from the team because of his shoulder injury, and later Rishab Pant was in for the captaincy.

Rishab Pant (Delhi Capitals)

Rishab Pant was declared as DC’s captain in 2021 after Shreyas Iyer’s shoulder injury during that match, ever since then, Delhi Capitals decided to keep him as the captain. In his first season as captain (2021), he led the team to 9 wins out of 16 matches.

Mayank Agarwal (Punjab Kings)

Mayank Agarwal was named as PKBS captain in 2022. Also, this season of IPL will be his 1st match as a full-time captain of the team.

Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)

IPL’s inaugural edition winner Rajasthan Royals has declared Sanju Samson as the captain of the team. He is also the first player to score a century in his captaincy debut.

KL Rahul (Lucknow Super Giants)

KL Rahul was picked up by LSG for 17 crores before the mega auction. He started his career with RCB and for the last two years, Rahul captained Punjab Kings. He was a leading run-scorer on the team and scored a total of 2548 before leaving the team.

Hardik Pandya (Gujrat Titans)

It’s Hardik Pandya’s first match as a captain in IPL as he has never led a team before. He was also picked up by the team via draft like Kl Rahul for LSG. Hardik previously played for Mumbai Indians but was not retained by the team in the auction.

Read More: ICC Women’s World Cup India vs West Indies: Smriti Mandhana And Harmanpreet Kaur Shines

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here