Australia Wins The ICC Women’s World Cup For Record 7th Time

ICC Women’s World Cup 2022, which started on 4th March 2022 has came to an end today on 3rd April with Australia Women’s Team as a Winner. The final match was played between Australia Women’s Team and England Women’s Team at the Hagley Oval Stadium in Christchurch. Both Australia and England reached finals by defeating West Indies and South Africa in the semi-finals respectively.

Australia defeated team England by 71 runs and made a high score of 365 runs whereas England scored 285 runs in total. Today Australia marked its 7th win of Women’s ODI World Cup, which is the most number of wins followed by England with 4 wins.

ICC Women’s World Cup Finals Highlights

England women’s won the toss and invited the Australian team to bat first which seemed a wrong decision for the team. Also Alyssa Healy was surely the star player of todays match by opening the match 170 runs in 138 balls. Racheal Haynes and Beth Mooney also equally invested in the match for win by scoring 68 and 62 runs respectively. Alana King and Jess Jonassen also outshined in the match as they took 3 wickets each.

As for team England, Nat Sciver, Tamsin Beaumont and Heather knight also gave a good performance. Nat Scriver scored 140 runs, Tamsin scored 27 runs whereas Heather made 26 runs.

Also the truly deserving Alyssa Healy was the Player of the Tournament as well as player of the match in Australia Women’s vs England Women’s match today.


Australia Women’s Playing XI: Meg Lanning (c), Alyssa Healy (w), Beth Mooney, Rachael Haynes, Alana King, Darcie Brown, Tahlia McGrath, Ellyse Perry, Ashleigh Gardner, Jess Jonassen, Megan Schutt.

England Women’s Playing XI: Heather Knight (c), Amy Jones (w), Tammy Beaumont, Charlotte dean, Kate Cross, Anya Shrubsole, Kathrine Brunt, Natalie Sciver, Sophie Ecclestone, Sophia Dunkley, Danielle Wyatt.

ICC Women’s World Cup Prize Money

Also the winner, runner ups and semi-finalists have received a heavy sum of prize money :

  • Australian team i.e. winners have received prize money of $ 1,32 million.
  • The runner-ups that are team England are awarded with prize money of $600,000.
  • Two Semi-finalist teams i.e. West Indies and South Africa were given $300,000 each as the prize money.

Read More: Who Are The Owners Of Lucknow Super Giants And Gujarat Titans: Previous IPL Teams And Companies

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here