How Many Teams Have Played In IPL So Far: Detailed List Here

IPL, the most awaited league of the season is contested between the ten teams which represent ten Indian cities. It is played in the T20 format and was founded in 2007 by BCCI. At present, there are 8 teams (5 defunct teams) and this year two teams are also going to debut. So, let’s take a look on the list of teams played in IPL:

List Of IPL Teams Played So Far In The Tournament:

  • Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians debuted in the year 2008 presently captained by Rohit Sharma also the current captain of the Indian National Team. MI is the only team to win 5 Matches in the fourteen seasons in years 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020 and has been the best IPL team so far.

  • Chennai Super Kings

CSK, founded in 2008 and won its first match in and is captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The team is also the current IPL champions after winning the 2021 match. CSK has won the trophy four times in the year 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021.

CSK was also held in suspension on 14 July 2015 for two years. On 24 February 2016, the ban was lifted by the Supreme Court of India.

  • Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals previously known as Delhi Daredevils is captained by Rishabh Pant and in 2020 it appeared in the finals for the first time. DC has played all fourteen seasons and is franchised by GMR Group, bought for $84 million on 20 February 2008.

  • Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB, captained by Virat Kohli the former captain of the Indian National Team and is named after a liquor brand Royal Challenge. RCB has never won an IPL match but has been runner-up in three seasons. The team is also called “underachievers” because of constant failures and also holds the record for both highest and lowest titles in IPL.

  • Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR is one of the most famous teams in IPL, franchise owned by popular Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta. The team won the IPL title in 2012 after defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final. Also in 2014 after defeating Kings XI Punjab KKR won another title.

  • Rajasthan Royals

RR represents Jaipur, Rajasthan in the Indian Premier League, introduced in the year 2008. The team has won IPL title in 2008 (inaugural edition) captained under Shane Warne and was also runner-up in the 2013 champions league.

Rajasthan Royals was also banned for two years along with CSK because of the betting scandal in 2013 and couldn’t participate in the years 2016 and 2017.

  • Punjab Kings

The team Punjab Kings was previously known as Kings XI Punjab and jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. The team was runner-up in the 2014 match, getting defeated by Kolkata Knight Riders.

  • Sunrisers Hyderabad

The team SRH is franchised by SUN Group and was founded in 2012, debuted in 2013. SRH won IPL Title in the year 2016 after defeating the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

  • Deccan Chargers (2008-12)

Deccan Chargers was a team based in the city of Hyderabad franchised by the Deccan Chronicle Holdings Ltd. The team won the second edition of IPL in 2009.

Deccan Chargers was introduced in 2008 but on 15 September 2012, the team was banned by IPL because of their breach of contract terms. Then in 2012 another bid for the Hyderabad franchise was won by the SUN TV network and named the team Sunrisers Hyderabad.

  • Kochi Tuskers Kerala (2011)

Kochi Tuskers Kerala was the team that represented the city Kochi from Kerala, it was introduced in 2011 and was out from IPL the same year. It only played one season of IPL and was terminated because of the Payment issues between the team owners.

  • Pune Warriors India (2011-13)

Pune Warriors was the team based on Pune city of India, the team was franchised by Sahara India Pariwar. It was also been removed along with Kochi Tusker because of the same reason i.e. financial crisis between the franchises. The team played its last IPL match on 19 May 2013 against the Delhi Daredevils Team.

  • Gujrat Lions (2016-18)

Gujrat Lions represents the Rajkot City of Gujrat and the franchise was owned by Intex Technologies. The team was introduced in 2016 and has played only two seasons of IPL.

It was as a replacement team because of the suspension of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals from the IPL.

  • Rising Pune Supergiant (2016-18)

This team was based in Pune, Maharashtra, and played for IPL in the year 2016 and 2017, and the franchise was owned by RP Sanjeev Goenka. It was also the two-seasons replacement team along with Gujrat Lions.

Also this year two new teams are included i.e.

  • Lucknow Super Giants

The team is franchised by the same owner of the previous team Rising Pune Supergiant that is Sanjeev Goenka Group. It will represent Lucknow city of Uttar Pradesh and is to be captained by KL Rahul, Vice-captain of the Indian National Cricket Team.

  • Gujrat Titans

Gujrat Titans will also debut in the upcoming fourteenth season of IPL along with LSG. It is based on the Ahmedabad, Gujrat franchise owned by CVC Capital Partners. The team is to be captained by Hardik Pandya and they have also picked players like Shubman Gill and Rashid Khan.

Read more: Top 5 Goal scorers Who Scored Maximum Number Of Goals In Premier League History

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here