Previous Winners of FIFA ‘The Best’ Football Managers till Now

The Best FIFA Football Coach is an award that is presented every year to both men’s and women’s best football coaches or we say managers. It is reflected on the basis of who has performed their best in the last 12 months. ‘The Best’ was first started in 2016 awarding Claudio Ranieri as the inaugural winner of the edition.

The current Liverpool manager, Jurgen Klopp has won the award twice making himself one of the best coaches in the world.

Let’s know about the previous winners of The Best FIFA Football Coach (managers) till now.

List Of Managers Who Have Won FIFA The Best Award Till Now

1. Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City)

Claudio is a former football player and is currently the head coach of the Serie B club Cagliari. He made his name for his managerial career in 1988 where he received various honors including promotion from Serie C1 to Serie B. In 2016 he also received the Premier League manager of the year award and won FIFA the Best award for guiding Leicester City to the Premier League Victory.

2. Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)

Zidane is renowned because of his impressive techniques during his playing career and now is regarded as one of the most successful coaches of all time. Zidane guided Real Madrid to three consecutive Champions League, which helped him win the FIFA ‘the Best’ award.

3. Didier Deschamps (France)

Since 2012 Didier manages the France National Team and won the award for Best Football Coach award later in 2018. During his playing career, he took his nation towards various winning moments including the 1998 World Cup and Euro 200 where he captained the team.

Ass a manager, he won the 2018 FIFA and was Runner-up in Qatar 2022. During the 2016 UEFA European League, France’s national team was runner-up and was the winner of the nations league.

4. Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Jurgen holds the record for most wins for the Best FIFA Football Coach by winning two consecutive years in 2019 and 2020. For over 8 years now, Jurgen still manages the Premier League club, Liverpool. He received various awards for the club as he guided the club to the UEFA Champions League finals in 2018.

In the next season, the club also won its first FIFA Club World Cup and led Liverpool to its first premier league title.

5. Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

The former German footballer retired at the age of 25 because of a knee injury. Thomas was also named UEFA men’s coach of the year in 2020-2021 and German footballer of the year in 2012.

After being appointed by Chelsea he managed to win the Champions League with Chelsea, which seemed impossible at one time as he was hired in middle of a season. But was later on dismissed in September 2022.

Which Manager Will Win FIFA The Best Award For 2022

Year 2022 saw football achieving some great heights. On one hand, Argentina finally won the World Cup under Lionel Messi, and on the other, Real Madrid’s back to back comebacks in UCL helped them win another Champions trophy.

Three managers who have been shortlisted as the final nominees for the award this season are:

  • Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid CF)
  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City FC)
  • Lionel Scaloni (Argentinian National Team)

Read More: List of Premier League Player of the Month and Managers of the Month Winners So Far in 2022

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here