List Of Players Who Have Won Best FIFA Women’s Award Till Now

Best FIFA Women’s Award: Every year, the sport’s governing body, FIFA, presents the Best FIFA Women’s Player Award to the female player who performed the finest over the preceding year. It was first awarded in 2016. Earlier, the award was called FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year till 2015.

Here’s a list of all players who have won the Best FIFA Women’s Player Award to date.

List Of Players Who Won The Best FIFA Women’s Award Till Now

1. Carli Lloyd 

The American former professional football player, Carli Lloyd is the first player to receive the Best FIFA Women’s Player Award in 2016 with 20.86% votes for Houston Dash. Moreover, the two-time Olympic gold medalist secured second place for the same award with 16.28% votes for Manchester City in the subsequent year, 2017.

2. Lieke Martens

The professional Dutch football player, Lieke Martens became 2017’s best women’s player while representing Barcelona. She won with 21.72% votes.

Besides, Lieke had a crucial contribution to FC Barcelona Femení’s maiden Continental Treble. The team won the UEFA Women’s Champions League, the Primera Division, and the Copa de la Reina all in the same season.

3. Marta Vieira da Silva

The Brazilian footballer, Marta won the Best Women’s Player Award in 2018. She won with 14.73% votes as she represented Orlando Pride. Furthermore, she holds numerous records in football. With 115 goals, Marta is Brazil’s top international goal scorer of any gender.

4. Megan Rapinoe 

American football player, Megan Rapinoe plays as a winger for OL Reign of the National Women’s Soccer League, and the United States national team. Megan received the prestigious award in 2019. She received 46% votes while representing Reign FC.

Withal, Rapinoe played a crucial role in the United states’ winning performance at the world cup that year.

5. Lucy Bronze

England’s Lucy Bronze plays as a right-back for Barcelona and the England national team. Lucy won the award in 2020 as she received 52% votes. Back in that time, She represented Manchester City. Moreover, Bronze was placed third with 29% votes in 2019.

Also, Lucy received BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year in the year 2018 and 2020.

6. Alexia Putellas

Spanish soccer player, Alexia Putellas Barcelona’s captain, and midfielder. She is also Spain National Team’s Midfielder. Putellas won the award with 52% votes in 2021 for Barcelona.

FIFA Football Awards 2022

Paris, France will be hosting the next FIFA Football Awards 2022 on February 27th, 2023. The Best FIFA Women’s Award will be organized in the same. Up to the present time, 14 players have been shortlisted.

14 players shortlisted for Best FIFA Women’s Award 2022:

Aitana Bonmatí, Debinha, Jessie Fleming, Ada Hegerberg, Sam Kerr, Beth Mead, Vivianne Miedema, Alex Morgan, Lena Oberdorf, Alexandra Popp, Alexia Putellas, Wendie Renard, Keira Walsh, Leah Williamson.

READ MORE: Who is Noel Le Graet, President of French Football Federation: Net Worth, Career, Controversies And More

Rupanjal Chauhan
Rupanjal Chauhan
Rupanjal Chauhan is a sports enthusiast and is pursuing her bachelor's degree in journalism and mass communication from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She shares her thoughts on various sports topics via SportsAxle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here