Full List Of Winners Of Finalissima Till Date

Past Winners Of Finalissima: Argentina were crowned victorious in the final of Finalissima 2022 held on Wednesday. They went head to head against Euro 2020 champions Italy. The South American team emerged as the champions after defeating Italy by a margin of 3 goals to nil. Martinez, Di Maria, and Dybala each scored a single goal to help Argentina win the championship.

After beating Italy on Wednesday, Argentina retained their Finalissima trophy. Italian fans went home disappointed after their team weren’t able to score whereas the latter were happy after Argentina won a one-sided game.

What is Finalissima?

Finalissima or CONMEBOL-UEFA Cup of Champions was previously known as the European/South American Nations Cup. Popularly known as the  Artemio Franchi Cup, this football match is hosted by the collaboration of CONMEBOL and UEFA. Recently, they rebranded the tournament’s name as Finalissima.

This football event is contested by the winners of the UEFA European Championship and Copa America. The competition was discontinued after its second season. Earlier it was held in 1985 and 1993. After 29 years the tournament is back with its third edition ever.

Finalissima winners till date

The European/South American Nations Cup was started in 1985 with its first edition. The first ever match was played at Parc des Princes in Paris. The tournament was supposed to be held every four years with the official venue either being in Europe or South America. However, after its two editions, the tournament was further discontinued.

Here are full the list of Finalissima winners to date:

  • France (1985)

The first ever edition was played in 1985. It was played between the winners of 1983 Copa America Uruguay and 1984 UEFA Euro Champions France. France were crowned champions after winning the tournament by a margin of 2 goals to nil.

  • Argentina (1993)

As mentioned above the tournament was supposed to be played after every four years. However, the winners of 1987 Copa America Uruguay and 1988 UEFA Euro Champions Netherlands couldn’t agree on a date. Therefore the tournament was canceled and it took place in 1993.

This time the two teams were 1991 Copa America winners Argentina and 1992 UEFA Euro Champions Denmark. Argentina won the game in a penalty shootout by a margin of 5-4, following 1-1 draw at extra time.

  • Argentina (2022)

The tournament was relaunched again in 2022 with a brand new name. This time the two teams who qualified were UEFA Euro 2020 Champions Italy and Copa America 2021 winners Argentina. Moreover, Argentina emerged victorious after beating Italy by a margin of 3 goals to nil and winning their second Finalissima title.

Read More: Top 5 Clubs By Odds Where Paul Pogba Will Be Heading Next After Leaving Manchester United

Ansh Arora
Ansh Arora
Ansh Arora is pursuing his bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. Cricket and Esports are a few of the sports that Ansh often gets engaged with. Apart from that, NBA and football also seek his attention.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here