Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Sir Matt Busby Player Of The Year Award At Manchester United, Know Full List Of Winners Here

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year Award at Manchester United. The Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award is voted for by the club’s supporters across the globe.

Fans were invited to vote for the player they felt deserved the award, with Ronaldo ultimately receiving 60% of the total number of votes.

The forward has won the award on three occasions during his first spell at the club, and he is the second player in club history to win it for the fourth time. Ronaldo joins De Gea as the only player to have won the award four times– with the goalkeeper coming second in voting this season.

Ronaldo is undoubtedly a deserving winner of the award due to his goal contribution throughout the 2021/22 season. While the Red Devils had a bad season, CR7 continued to score goals at a remarkable rate.

Cristiano Ronaldo In 2021/22 Season

He has scored 24 goals in all competitions, with 18 coming in the Premier League alone. Ronaldo’s most memorable goal came against Tottenham Hotspur at Old Trafford where he scored a match-winning hat-trick.

Ronaldo has stated he is staying at Man Utd this summer despite the lack of Champions League football next season, and also urged fans to give new manager Erik ten Hag the time he needs.

This season he finished behind only Son Heung-min and Mohamed Salah in the race for the Golden Boot

Who Else Won Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year Award Other Than Cristiano Ronaldo

  • 1987โ€“88 Brian McClair
  • 1988โ€“89 Bryan Robson
  • 1989โ€“90 Gary Pallister
  • 1990โ€“91 Mark Hughes Wales
  • 1991โ€“92 Brian McClair
  • 1992โ€“93 Paul Ince
  • 1993โ€“94 Eric Cantona
  • 1994โ€“95 Andrei Kanchelskis
  • 1995โ€“96 Eric Cantona
  • 1996โ€“97 David Beckham
  • 1997โ€“98 Ryan Giggs
  • 1998โ€“99 Roy Keane
  • 1999โ€“2000 Roy Keane
  • 2000โ€“01 Teddy Sheringham
  • 2002โ€“03 Ruud van Nistelrooy
  • 2003โ€“04 Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2004โ€“05 Gabriel Heinze
  • 2005โ€“06 Wayne Rooney
  • 2006โ€“07 Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2007โ€“08 Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2008โ€“09 Nemanja Vidiฤ‡
  • 2009โ€“10 Wayne Rooney
  • 2010โ€“11 Javier Hernรกndez
  • 2011โ€“12 Antonio Valencia
  • 2012โ€“13 Robin van Persie
  • 2013โ€“14 David de Gea
  • 2014โ€“15 David de Gea
  • 2015โ€“16 David de Gea
  • 2016โ€“17 Ander Herrera
  • 2017โ€“18 David de Gea
  • 2018โ€“19 Luke Shaw
  • 2019โ€“20 Bruno Fernandes
  • 2020โ€“21 Bruno Fernandes
  • 2021โ€“22 Cristiano Ronaldo

What Didย  Cristiano Ronaldo About His Stay At The Club

“We are happy and excited, not only the players but the supporters as well. I wish him the best, and let’s believe that next year we’re going to win trophies”.

READ MORE:ย Know-How Many Times David De Gea Has Won Playerโ€™s Player Of The Year Award At Manchester United

Harsh Vinayak
Harsh Vinayak
Harsh is a cricket enthusiast who has played cricket at the district level and writes about the game of cricket and football around the globe. Currently, he is pursuing his bachelor of journalism degree from St Xavier's College Ranchi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here