What is Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Records, Wins and Who Has Won The Most

Border-Gavaskar Trophy is one of the renowned Test Cricket series by cricket fans all over the world played between the Indian cricket team and the Australian cricket team. The story behind the name is interesting as it was renamed in 1996 after Sunil Gavaskar and Allan Border the legendary cricketers of India and Australia respectively to reembrace their record-breaking achievements.

This Test Series is played between India and Australia and this year 2022-23 the series will come back with an Australia tour of India starting next month. Therefore all the cricket lovers out there, this year will be a fun ride for you with upcoming IPL and test matches altogether.

Unbeaten Records

The first season of Border-Gavaskar was 1996-97, which was played in India and won by the hosts themselves whereas Australia won for the first time in the 1999-00 season. Since then the cricketers as well as the fans have always looked forward to this game.

Since 1996 there has been a total of 15 seasons till now with 1 draw and with 10 wins India leads the series. Team India holds the record for winning the trophy the maximum times (10 times) besides they are also the winners of the latest edition played in 2020-21.

Sachin Tendulkar is the most successful batsman of the tournament with 3262 runs from 65 innings. Whereas, Anil Kumble is the most successful bowler taking 111 over 20 matches in the tournament.

Some Noteworthy seasons of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 

The first Border-Gavaskar 1996-97 season, won by team India will always remain in our hearts as it was Sachin Tendulkar’s first series as captain where India defeated Australia by 7 wickets.

The 2018-19 season is one of the most historical seasons of the series as India was the first Asian team to win a Test series in Australia.

The latest 2021-22 season also famously termed as the ultimate Test match of all time is one the most interesting matches as India won the series by winning the final match by three wickets. The match was initially at draw by 1-1 but came to an end on the last test with groundbreaking records.

Upcoming Schedule of Border-Gavaskar Trophy

This season of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy is expected to begin in February 2023, the schedule for the Australia tour of India is mentioned below,

  • 9th February, India vs Australia at VCA Stadium 9:30 am IST onwards
  • 17th February, India vs Australia at Arun Jaitley Stadium 9:30 am IST onwards
  • 1st March, India vs Australia at HPCA Stadium 9:30 am IST onwards
  • 9th March, India vs Australia at Narendra Modi Stadium 9:30 am IST onwards

Read More: Who is Noel Le Graet, President of French Football Federation: Net Worth, Career, Controversies, And More

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here