Team India ICC Cricket World Cup Schedule, Team, Matches, Groups, When and Where to Watch Matches, Prediction to Win

Team India at ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2022: India will start their T20 Cricket World Cup against their arch-rivals Pakistan on 23rd October, Sunday at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
So far India has only won the inaugural edition (2007) of the tournament under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, where India beat Pakistan in the finals by 5 runs.

Current champions Australia will host the T20 World Cup 2022 (8th edition) of the tournament. Also, West Indies is the only country to win the tournament twice (2012 and 2016). Whereas India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, England, and Australia have won once.

Team India ICC T20 World Cup Schedule

India will set their eyes to lift the trophy this year, the team has arrived prior to their schedule for the warm-up matches starting from 17th October. India will play warm-up against Australia and New Zealand on the 17th and 19th of October respectively.

The top 8 teams in the rankings have already qualified for the tournament and in the qualifier round, the teams are divided into two groups:

  • Group A: England, Afghanistan, Australia, New Zealand, A1, and B2
  • Group B: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, A2, and BI

Scheduled Matches:

  • 23rd October, Sunday: India vs Pakistan, starts at 1:30 PM (IST) onwards at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne.
  • 27th October, Thursday: India vs A runner-up, starts at 12:30 PM (IST) onwards.
  • 30th October, Sunday: India vs South Africa, starts at 4:30 PM (IST) onwards at Optus Stadium, Burswood.
  • 2nd November, Wednesday: India vs Bangladesh, starts at 1:30 PM (IST) onwards at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide.
  • 6th November, Sunday: India vs B Winner, starts at 1:30 PM (IST) onwards.

When and Where to Watch Matches Of India at ICC Cricket World Cup 2022

The warm-up matches are streaming live from 10th October on different platforms. Star Sports channel will be providing the live telecast of warm-up matches and the T20 World Cup in India. Along with that digital platform, Disney+ Hotstar will also stream live for the matches starting from 17th October.

List of other broadcasters across several different regions for the T20 World Cup:

  • Austalia: Fox Sports
  • Pakistan: Ten Sports, PTV Sports
  • Caribbean: Sports Max
  • UK: Sky Sports
  • South Africa: SuperSport

STORY ALERT: Top 5 Teams With Most FIFA World Cup Trophies: Know Who Has Won It Most Number Of Times

Squad for World Cup 2022

India’s ‘Hitman’ Rohit Sharma will lead the team for the first time ever in his cricket career at the T20 World Cup 2022. But this year India will enter the tournament without two of their prominent players, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja due to their respective injuries.

Indian team has already reached Australia and started warm-up sessions with the Australian team to be well-versed with Australia’s weather conditions.

Team India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Deepak Hooda, Virat Kohli, Harshal Patel, Axar Patel, Dinesh Karthik, Rishab Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Arshdeep Singh, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal

Stand-by Players: Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar, Md. Shami, Shreyas Iyer

Predictions for ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2022

With last year’s defeat against the arch-rivals Pakistan, India couldn’t reach the knock-out stage. However, this time India looks more stable and strong under their new captain Rohit Sharma. Team India are favorites to win the trophy this year along with the previous year’s champions team Australia.

Read More: All You Need to Know About Stephen Curry: Teams, NBA, Championship, Records and Net Worth

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here