Wanindu Hasaranga Invites Yuzvendra Chahal After Becoming The New Purple Cap Holder

The Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga took the top spot on the Purple Cap after taking a wicket against Gujarat Titans. With 24 wickets he tops the chart with Yuzvendra Chahal dropping to the second spot.

The Purple Cap is awarded to the leading wicket-taker of the IPL season. The bowler with the most wickets in the tournament is allowed to wear the cap on the field. In an event of a tie, the Purple Cap is awarded to the bowler with a better economy rate.

Both Chahal and Hasaranga have 24 wickets but Hasaranga has a better economy. In the 17th over of the match Wanindu tossed it up a bit and David Miller came to out smash it straight down the ground but hit it directly into his hands.

Gujarat Titans captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and elected to bat first. While GT has already qualified for the IPL 2022 playoffs, Rcb is playing a must-win game to qualify for the next round

While batting first Gujarat Titans set a target of 169 runs with Hardik Pandya unbeaten 62 off 47.

“Yuzvendra Chahal Is A Good Friend Of Mine “: Hasaranga 

In the interview after the innings break, Hasaranga said” Very happy to get the Purple Cap, especially in this kind of league to be leading wicket-taker

“Yuzvendra Chahal is a good friend of mine. I wish he takes the Purple Cap from me tomorrow” he added

Wanindu Hasaranga Leads Purple Cap Race in IPL 2022

Hasaranga of the Royal Challengers Banglore and Chahal of the Rajasthan Royals both have 24 wickets but due to better economy, Hasaranga has been handed the purple cap.

At present Hasaranga tops the list with Yuzvendra Chahal slipping to the second spot. Kagiso Rabada of Punjab Kings is third with 22 wickets.

Kuldeep Yadav (Delhi Capitals) who is in great form has retained his 4th spot taking 20 wickets in 13 matches, his best IPL tally.

KKR’s Andre Russell and LSG Avesh Khan finish in the top 10 at their end of league stage campaign

1. Hasranga wickets-  24 wickets (14 matches)
2. Yuzvendra Chahal – 24 wickets(13 matches)
3  Kagiso Rabada       -22 wickets(12 matches)
4. Umran Malik          – 21 wickets(13 matches)
5. Kuldeep Yadav       -20 wickets(13 matches)

READ MORE: Twitter Reacts To Glenn Maxwell’s One Of The Best Catch Of The Season

Harsh Vinayak
Harsh Vinayak
Harsh is a cricket enthusiast who has played cricket at the district level and writes about the game of cricket and football around the globe. Currently, he is pursuing his bachelor of journalism degree from St Xavier's College Ranchi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here