Gujarat Titans Beat Rajasthan Royals To Clinch IPL Title In Maiden Season

Gujarat Titans defeated Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets in the final on Sunday to become IPL 2022 champions at the Narendra Modi Stadium. Hardik Pandya led from the front as GT won the IPL in their maiden season.

Shubham Gill and Hardik Pandya showed a wonderful game for Gujarat. Batting first after winning the toss, the Sanju Samson-led team gave a target of 131 runs to Gujarat, which they chased just by losing 3 wickets.

Gujarat Titans who are playing their maiden season of the Indian Premier League were fabulous this summer. They finished on top of the table after winning 10 of their 14 matches.

Gujarat Titans win Their Maiden IPL Title And Create History In Front Of The Record Crowd

Hardik Pandya-led side won the title in front of a raucous crowd of more than 100,000 at the Narendra Modi Stadium. Hardik is the fourth Indian captain after MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, and Rohit Sharma to win the IPL Crown.

Gill Shines As Gujarat Titans Chased A Target Of 131

Gujarat Titans had a very poor start. The explosive opener Wriddhiman Saha who was in excellent form returned to the pavilion scoring just 5 runs. Gill’s unbeaten knock of 45 runs with support from Hardik Pandya (34) and David Miller (32) helped GT chase the target of 131 with 11 balls remaining.

Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, and Yuzvendra Chahal took 1-1 wickets each for Rajasthan Royals.

Captain Hardik Pandya Did Wonders With The Ball

Hardik Pandya took three important wickets to restrict Rajasthan Royals to a score of 130. Rajasthan kept losing wickets at regular intervals after electing to bat first. R Sai Kishore also added two wickets under his belt. While Yash Dayal, Mohammed Shami, and Rashid Khan took one wicket each.

No batsman could play a big knock for Rajasthan Royals. In front of the brilliant bowling from Gujarat, the Rajsthan batsman remained under pressure till the end. Hardik Pandya sent Sanju Samson(14) to the pavilion in the 8th over. Even after this wickets of Rajasthan continued to fall and Devdutt Padikkal(2)was caught by Rashid Khan in the next over. Buttler’s (39) breakthrough given by the skipper caused the team to fall completely.

READ MORE: Top 5 Most Successful Teams In IPL With Most Number of Trophies

Harsh Vinayak
Harsh Vinayak
Harsh is a cricket enthusiast who has played cricket at the district level and writes about the game of cricket and football around the globe. Currently, he is pursuing his bachelor of journalism degree from St Xavier's College Ranchi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here