5 Most Successful Captain in IPL History By Trophies

Indian Premier League is by far the most loved cricket league and is the most-attended cricket league in the world. We have had fourteen seasons of IPL so far and the current title holders are our all-time favorite team Chennai Super Kings by winning the 2021 season.

IPL 2022(season-fifteen) is all set to be played by the 2nd of April and till June, although it is not yet officially announced by the BCCI (Board of Control For Cricket of India).  Indian Premier League fans are much more excited than ever for this season because of the addition of two teams which are Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants.

The league has also awarded the viewers with many great players, so let’s take a look at some of the most successful captains of all time.

List Of Top 5 IPL Captains By Trophies

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is top on the list of captaincy. In Rohit Sharma’s debut season as captain Mumbai Indians won the match and led them to win the trophy again in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

From 2008 to 2010 he played for Deccan Charges and then in the 2011 auction he joined the Mumbai Indian team.

Rohit Sharma is definitely the best captain in IPL’s history because in his 8 years of captaincy, has lifted 5 IPL trophies. The Hitman is really a naturally gifted batsman in the world.

MS Dhoni

Under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings won four titles in the Indian Premier League in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021. The team is also the current champion of the league.

Dhoni is also the most expensive player in the IPL for the auction in the first season of IPL by CSK for $1.5 million and the former Indian Captain already tops the list for most match plays in the IPL.

Gautam Gambhir

In 2011 Gautam Gambhir joined the Kolkata Knight Riders team and turned its fortunes by winning the trophy two times in 2012 and 2014. There was a lot of pressure on him when he took over the captaincy because the existence of Saurav Ganguly didn’t sit too well but nevertheless under his captaincy KKR made history by giving Kolkata its first-ever IPL trophy.

But on 3rd December 2018, Gambhir announced his retirement from all forms of cricket.

Shane Warne

Shane Warne is a former International cricketer who also captained the Australian Cricket Team in the ODIs.

He led the team Rajasthan Royals to win the inaugural edition of the IPL under his captaincy in 2008, his captaincy and coaching received well recognition and got praised by the opposition team too.

Adam Gilchrist and David Warner

Adam Gilchrist was a record-breaking wicket-keeper and former Australian National Cricket Team captain. His captaincy for Deccan Charges led them to open their account in the winner’s list in 2009 IPL.

David Warner was also the captain of the Australian National Cricket team is a left-handed opening player. The Sunrisers Hyderabad team being captained by David warner made them win the 2016 Indian Premier League.

READ MORE: IPL 2022 Mega Auction: Top 5 Most Expensive Players After Day-1 Of Auctions

Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari
Payal Kumari is pursuing her bachelor's in journalism from St. Xavier's College, Ranchi. She is a sports enthusiast and currently pens down her thoughts for Sports Axle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here