On this Day In 2018, First Match Of IPL Was Played Between KKR vs RCB, Know Everything Here

IPL First Match 2008: The invention of the Indian Premier League completely changed the face of international cricket by bringing in top players from around the world on the same platform. The league was welcomed by the fans as they got a chance to watch some of the best cricketing action.

The league was brought into the limelight when Shane Warne led side Rajasthan Royals lifted the trophy for the first time.

The first match of IPL played on 18 April 2008 was a thriller played between Royal Challengers Banglore and Kolkata Knight Riders where Brendon McCullum set the stage on fire with his mesmerizing knock.

Where Was The First IPL Match Played In 2008

Royal Challengers Banglore vs Kolkata Knight Riders was played at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Glimpse Of The Historic Match

The KKR side led by former Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly and the RCB team led by Rahul Dravid had some top players in their teams. Virat Kohli was also part of RCB playing 11.

Royal Challengers won the toss and decided to bowl first. The first delivery in the history of IPL was bowled by Praveen Kumar and Sourabh Ganguly faced the first delivery.

After Zaheer Khan dismissed Sourabh Ganguly for 10 runs, the fans had no idea Brendon McCullum will single-handedly change the course of the match.

The former New Zealand skipper smashed RCB bowlers all over the ground as he scored 158 runs off just 73 balls. The innings consisted of 10 fours and 13 sixes with KKR posting a target of 222.

The RCB team in reply was bowled out for just 88 runs with Praveen Kumar top-scoring for the team with 18 runs. Kohli who was very young at that time scored just 1 run before getting bowled by Dinda.

KKR won the match by 140 runs

RCB VS KKR Scorecard

KKR Batting

Total – 222/3
Brendon McCullum- 158 off 73 balls
Ricky Ponting – 20 off 20 balls

RCB Bowling

Zaheer Khan – 1 wicket
Ashley Noffke- 1 wicket
Jacques Kallis- 1 wicket

RCB Batting

Praveen Kumar – 18 runs

KKR Bowling

Ashok Dinda-2 wickets
Ajit Agarkar- 3 wickets
Sourav Ganguly- 2 wickets

Who were In The Playing 11 Of The First Match


Rahul Dravid(C), Wasim Jaffer, Virat Kohli, Jacques Kallis, Cameron White, Mark Boucher, Balachandra Akhil, Ashley Noffke, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan


Sourav Ganguly(C), Ricky Ponting, David Hussey, Mohammad Hafeez, Laxmi Shukla, Wriddhiman Saha, Ajit Agarkar, Ashok Dinda, Murali Karthik, Ishant Sharma

READ MORE: Historical First Ball By Mohammed Shami For Gujarat Titans

Harsh Vinayak
Harsh Vinayak
Harsh is a cricket enthusiast who has played cricket at the district level and writes about the game of cricket and football around the globe. Currently, he is pursuing his bachelor of journalism degree from St Xavier's College Ranchi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here